Oklahoma’s laws on drug possession were recently updated. As of July 1st, 2017, if you are caught with a small amount of drugs, you will be charged at the misdemeanor level. This charge carries similar penalties to that of a first-time DUI (up to $1,000 in fines and 1 year in jail). These are just a few of the drugs (or, to use the official terminology, “controlled dangerous substances”) that can lead to a drug possession misdemeanor:
Of course, the penalties for drug charges become much more severe when you cross the line from simple drug possession to possession with the intent to deliver, manufacture, or distribute.
Violent crimes like domestic violence, assault, battery, and even murder involve a lot of “he said, she said.” There’s the story of the person who is accusing you, and then there is your story. It’s up to the Oklahoma justice system to figure out who is telling the truth and what should happen to you moving forward.
Our job, as criminal defense lawyers, is to give you a safe, judgment-free place to tell us what happened, then fight tooth and nail to make sure the other side hears you as well. We understand that sometimes you’re in the wrong place at the wrong time. Sometimes you make a mistake and immediately regret it. And sometimes you simply have to act in self-defense. We get it. And, more importantly, we know how to present your case in a way that gets through to any judge and jury counsel.
Don’t let a criminal charge determine the rest of your life. Call us for a free consultation, and fight to take your life back.